Roles

The roles interface provides an overview of system roles; you can inspect, edit, and delete them.

A role defines a user group that specifies a set of permissions for the system resources.

Listing roles

To list current system roles:
  1. navigate to the Corteza Admin,

  2. click on the "Roles" in the navigation drawer,

  3. optionally insert the filtering parameters; the list refreshes automatically.

Creating roles

To create a new role:
  1. navigate to the Corteza Admin,

  2. click on the "Roles" in the navigation drawer,

  3. click on the "New" button in the top right corner,

  4. provide the requested data (see role parameters),

  5. press the "Submit" button.

You can only define permissions for existing roles.

Editing roles

To edit an existing role:
  1. navigate to the Corteza Admin,

  2. click on the "Roles" in the navigation drawer,

  3. click on the edit icon next to the role you wish to edit,

  4. provide the requested data (see role parameters),

  5. press the "Submit" button.

Archiving roles

To archive an existing role:
  1. navigate to the Corteza Admin,

  2. click on the "Roles" in the navigation drawer,

  3. click on the edit icon next to the role you wish to archive,

  4. click and confirm the "Archive" button in the "Basic information" section.

Deleting roles

You can instead archive the role.

To delete an existing role:
  1. navigate to the Corteza Admin,

  2. click on the "Roles" in the navigation drawer,

  3. click on the edit icon next to the role you wish to delete,

  4. click and confirm the "Delete" button in the "Basic information" section.

Assign members

To assign users to a role:
  1. navigate to the Corteza Admin,

  2. click on the "Roles" in the navigation drawer,

  3. click on the edit icon next to the role you wish to assign to,

  4. select the users in the "Role members" section,

  5. press the "Submit" button.

You can only assign members to existing roles.

Role parameters

Basic information

The basic role information such as the name and the handle (system identifier).

Role membership

Role members lets you add members to a specific role.

The Role members section is available only for existing roles.

Permissions for all roles

Read any role

Determines if the role is allowed to see any role.

Update any role

Determines if the role is allowed to update any role.

Delete any role

Determines if the role is allowed to delete any role.

Manage members for any role

Determines if the role is allowed to add/remove members from any role.

Permissions for a specific role

Read (role name)

Determines if the role is allowed to see the given role.

Update (role name)

Determines if the role is allowed to update the given role.

Delete (role name)

Determines if the role is allowed to delete the given role.

Manage members for (role name)

Determines if the role is allowed to add/remove members from the given role.